I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

This book. This book. This book. I don’t know how to accurately convey my feelings about this book because there are just too many wonderful things I could say about it.

Jandy Nelson is without a doubt one of the most beautifully descriptive and imaginative authors whose work I have read. While her writing style might not be for everyone, I loved the way she was able to create two completely different characters and weave together their stories into one cohesive and dynamic novel.

I’ll Give You the Sun follows the stories of twins Jude and Noah as they navigate the ups and downs of growing up. Marketed as Young Adult Fiction, I think that this book is suitable for all ages. The novel alternates between the two twins stories of growth. We follow thirteen-year old Noah as he falls in love with the boy next door and struggles with societal and familial pressures. In tandem with Noah’s story, we step forward three years and follow Jude’s story as she comes to grips with a terrible tragedy that has ultimately torn her and Noah apart. We see Jude grow and learn how to love and put her life back together.

I loved how this novel went back and forth between time and perspective, while telling a larger story about love, loss, and family. I couldn’t put this book down and thoroughly enjoyed every page, every line, every word that Jandy Nelson put on the page. Definitely worth a read.

Leave a Reply

